The Reality of Being a Writer

All of us who have ever dreamed of being a full-time, professional writer, have always had an idealised vision of what that life would look like. We imagined limos and autographs, dining in Michelin-starred restaurants, and living in a luxury apartment in Manhattan, or in a windswept cottage with a sea view.

There’s nothing wrong with having fantasies about your writer’s life. Dreams are essential to both the creative process and to setting goals, albeit unrealistic ones. Most of us when we were starting out never met a ‘real’ writer. We based our image of the writer’s life on TV or movie characters. Sometimes, we’d go by writer’s biographies.

The problem is that these images are a filtered response to one person’s reality. When we watch a TV series like ‘Castle’ featuring extremely successful author Richard Castle, we see the screenwriter’s fantasy of what the creative novelist’s life is like.

In my own case, the reality is very different. And the truth is that there are far more writers like me than those who resemble Stephen King or JK Rowling. We have had some success, published a book or two, a few articles, and some short stories, but we’re far from rich or famous.

If you started writing because all those things — gushing fans and unlimited wealth — were the most important to you, you may well feel let down by reality. I have mentioned before about the man who attended my writers’ group for a few weeks. He was unquestionably talented, if unwilling to accept the need to edit anything. The big break came when he asked how much he could expect to earn as a novelist. I recited the most recent, and disappointing, statistics. I never saw him again. I could only conclude that he saw writing as nothing more than a means to a (rich) end, rather than being an end in itself.

Somewhere between our first success and the passage of time, we start to see what our career will really look like. That doesn’t mean a sudden success cannot shoot a typical genre writer into the stratosphere, but it does make it less likely. For myself, I like being anonymous. I wouldn’t mind being rich, but you can’t miss what you never had. I like walking down the street unrecognised except by my neighbours. All of which brings me to my point:

If you are a writer from the soles of your feet to the spray on your hair, your goal is to write. It may take you some time to figure that out. That’s okay. Perhaps you will be one of the lucky few to see your dreams come true, as well as knowing the fulfillment of writing every day.

The important thing to remember about writing, the single truth that is the same for all of us: writing is work. Yes, it may be easier for some people than others, but it remains work. And it’s the work that matters. Everything else is frippery.

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Back to Basics, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Reality of Being a Writer

  1. stevenjoelworley says:

    As someone who is just starting their writing journey at 49, it’s a brilliant reminder that what I want is to write, to learn to write and enjoy the writing itself, and not to focus on dreams of writing a novel into dreams of possible big money or fandom that may or may not come for something that I have created. After all, if the money comes, it will come after I have written the words down and sent the adventure out to the world to read and escape with. The true adventure for myself is in the process of writing down the characters bouncing around in my mind telling me what they want and how the scene will play out on paper. It’s great I am sure to be recognized and have people tell you how great your book is or being paid a big chuck of money, but to experience the story in real time as it comes out of you and flows to the page, to type the words “The End” nothing I feel will ever come close to that feeling I feel. So thank you for reminding me the journey is in the process, everything else is just extra fun.

    Thank you for your article!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.