What Should I Write About?

What Should I WriteOne of the repeated conversations of my childhood went like this:

ME: I’m bored!

MUM: Write something.

ME: What should I write about?

It must have happened a lot because I remember several similar instances.

These days, I don’t often need someone to suggest topics for writing. I usually have at least a couple of projects on the go at any given time. The blog, though, that’s a horse of an entirely different hue. I made myself a list of topics that might be of some use. I’m sharing it with you here in case you find yourself similarly stuck:

WRITING

Most of the readers of my blog are writers. If you have, or want to have, a blog of your own, then writing about your process, your failures as well as you successes, is an endlessly rich vein of subjects. My list of writing topics includes:

Practicalities:

  • Where do you write?
  • Do you use a schedule?
  • What rituals, if any, do you need to employ before you get to work?

The submission process:

  • Revision
  • Producing a compelling final draft
  • writing the cover letter and / or synopsis
  • selecting a journal, publisher, or agent to submit your work

Other Writing Topics:

  • Plot
  • Setting
  • Scenes
  • Foreshadowing
  • Point of view
  • Dialogue
  • Story architecture
  • What novelists can learn from playwrights / short story writers
  • What writers can learn from the other arts — music, painting, sculpture, etc.
  • Themes
  • Language
  • Developing your voice
  • Learning from the Masters
  • Structure
  • Characters
  • Crafting believable heroes and villains
  • Plotting
  • Genre
  • Revisions and rewrites

Topics not directly related to writing include:

  • Reviews
  • Inerviews
  • Developments in publishing
  • Lists (like this blog entry!) can be helpful if you’re stuck for a more in-depth topic
  • Inspiration — the things that get those creative juices flowing
  • Your hobbies or interests
  • Your town or local community
  • Travel
  • Food
  • Bookshops or art galleries

That’s enough for you to be going on with, I think. At one time or another, I believe I’ve covered pretty much every item in this list. Let me know if you have anything to add or if you’d like to post a link to your own blog, feel free. I’d love to check out the competition!

 

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

