Getting to Know Alistair Duncan

    

Those of us who adore Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes call ourselves Sherlockians or, sometimes, Holmesians. Alistair Duncan is a Doyleockian: as committed to the author as to his creation.

Tell us about yourself and the types of books you write.

Hmm difficult one. I discovered Holmes at the age of 8 via the Rathbone films. My love of Holmes was cemented by Jeremy Brett and it has gone on from there. It is therefore a love that has lasted for over three decades now.

I’ve long been a details person and an analyst of sorts. In my day job of computer programming I have to analyse requirements and clearly document my findings. These are skills that I find lend themselves to non-fiction and hence that is the kind of book that I write.

What makes your books different from Holmes’ stories?

Well I’m dealing in non-fiction so I’m not writing pastiche. However I am still telling a story. I have endeavoured to present my subject in a manner of which Holmes himself would have approved. Where possible I give the information and try to let the reader form their own opinions based on that information. My last three books have been biographies of different parts of Arthur Conan Doyle’s life and it has been my mission to demonstrate to people that he was more than just the creator of Holmes.

When you’re not reading Conan Doyle, who’s your go-to author or genre?

Tough one. I like Victorian history in general and I just finished a book on the early history of Broadmoor. I tend to read a lot of Holmes related stuff for review also.

Do you have a favourite fellow pastiche writer? Who and why?

Not really as I’m not a huge fan of pastiche. At the end of the day – no offence intended to any pastiche writer – no one can live up to Doyle.

Other than Holmes, who is your favourite detective?

Poirot.

Who are your heroes?

It’s boring but I’d have to say Arthur Conan Doyle. He was a man who gave us a great deal and showed how to stand up for what we believe in even in the face of pretty hostile opposition/ridicule.

Your favourite quote, Sherlockian or otherwise?

“The dominions of kings are limited. By mountains or rivers, a change in customs or an alteration of language.” — Edmund Dantes – The Count of Monte Cristo

If you’re interested in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, you really cannot do better than read Alistair’s excellent books.You’ll find sales links on his blog. HIs blog is a treasure for people who love Sherlock Holmes and / or the man who created him.

Check it out here: alistaird221b

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Sherlock Holmes, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting to Know Alistair Duncan

  1. pronchers says:

    Holmes stories always remind me of the 39 Steps by what’s his face, the onetime Prime minister of Canada, who wrote great stories about tramping in the highlands of Scotland. I have read all of his books, maybe, all that I could find and they have that same flavor of the Holmes stories. John Buchan was his name, that just came to me on a flight of Angels.

    Like

  2. Sally says:

    Hello I need to contact Alisair Duncan as soon as possible , I live in Cornwall England and I would like to ask him a few questions , or just meet him in person please xxx

    Like

Leave a Comment

