Getting to Know Molly Carr

Molly Carr is a retired biologist who’s very keen on all aspects of Sherlock Holmes and his friend Doctor Watson. Indeed, she is the expert on the good doctor.

Her fun, engaging style of writing have made her a firm favourite with Holmes’ enthusiasts.

Ms Carr likes travelling abroad, meeting friends and researching any number of subjects. She is a film buff, especially keen on Max Ophuls and Fritz Lang, as well as comic favourites Laurel and Hardy. An avid reader of all genres, member of three societies connected with Holmes, as well as The Friends of Doctor Watson, and not to be confused with someone of the same name who writes books on cholesterol! She has written three books about Holmes, “The Sign of Fear”, “A Study in Crimson” and “In Search of Doctor Watson.”

Her current work in progress is “The Noble Spinster.” Product DetailsProduct DetailsProduct Details

 

 

 

 

 

Tell us  about yourself and the types of books you write.

I’m a retired biologist and wrote my first article (for a Red Cross Magazine) at the age of twelve. Since then I’ve written hundreds of articles for magazines and newspapers, but it wasn’t until 2010 that I wrote my first book.

What makes your stories different from other Holmes’ pastiches?

I admire MX for giving amateurs the chance to get into print, and my first two books were pastiches: “The Sign of Fear” and “A Study in Crimson”  – followed by a book about Dr. Watson. “Sherlock in the Spring Time” is a collection of articles already published elsewhere. These articles vary in length and one of the most popular seems to be the very short “Ammunition Boots.” “A Sherlock Holmes Who’s Who” gets a lot of attention.

When you’re not reading Conan Doyle, who’s your go-to author or genre?

I don’t normally read pastiches.

Your favourite quote, Sherlockian or otherwise?

One of my favourite quotes is from Dr. Johnson (1709-1784): ‘He who is tired of London is tired of life.

Other than Holmes, who is your favourite detective?

My (second) favourite detective is Rex Stout’s Nero Wolfe who solves cases from his armchair, I imagine a bit like Mycroft Holmes.

Molly Carr’s books are available from Amazon and MX Publishing

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Sherlock Holmes, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting to Know Molly Carr

  1. George Carr says:

    Thank you for such a good ‘interview’. What you wrote about me looks really good.All the best,M 

    Liked by 1 person

  2. George Carr says:

    shsieditors@gmail.com “would love” to use your article about me “if Geri doesn’t mind.”  

    Like

  3. pronchers says:

    Dear Geri, I read all your blogs and I am still waiting for you to read my book Lashback :Devil’s Chair Island. I have fourteen reviews from people who enjoyed the book so it is not a waste of time. You might even enjoy it. I certainly enjoyed writing it. I have sent you an ebook from Amazon.

    Like

Leave a Comment

