Let’s Quiz!

Starter for 10

Yes, that’s Benedict Cumberbatch. The still is from a pre-Sherlock comedy called Starter for Ten.

So, you think you’d like to be a writer. You’ve read at least one book. You have a pencil and can find some paper. Anyway, it’s your destiny.

Or is it?

Here’s a very silly quiz I came up with when I was trying to figure out the subject of today’s blog. Answer these questions and see if you’re made of the ‘Write’ stuff.

When you think about being a writer, you imagine:

  1. Guesting on talk shows in the latest styles, appearing on the cover of Vogue or Esquire
  2. Living in a mansion with servants to cater to your every whim
  3. Getting that novel finished that you’ve been working on for a few years
  4. You don’t have to think about it. It’s who you are

When you meet other writers you:

  1. Tell them to remember your name because you’re gonna be BIG!
  2. Ask them for a loan
  3. Ask them for advice on your writing
  4. Tell them what books of theirs you’ve read and how they influenced your own work

How often do you write?

  1. Oh, I’ll get to it one of these days. I’ve got lots of time
  2. When the muse speaks to me
  3. I try to do at least a page a day, but it’s a struggle
  4. Every day. A minimum of a thousand words

Your first novel has been accepted and reviews are terrible. Do you:

  1. Take to your bed in a fit of the vapours? (You don’t know what the vapours are, but you’ll wing it)
  2. Figure it doesn’t matter as long as sales are great
  3. Sink into a deep depression, then re-read your book to see if the criticisms have merit
  4. Learn what you can and apply it to your next work in progress

You have a free day. How do you spend it?

  1. At the spa or the gym. You need to look great for your public
  2. Looking at expensive houses or boats, planning how you’ll spend your money
  3. At the bookshop looking for a new ‘how-to-write’ book
  4. A quick coffee with friends so they don’t think you’ve died, then a little extra writing time…

Your favourite books are:

  1. Oh, I don’t have time to read. I have a life!
  2. Anything that tells me how to be wealthy and successful
  3. Something popular in my genre
  4. I have too many favourites to count, in all sorts of genres and types of writing

When someone suggests you change part of your story, your reaction is:

  1. Ha! I’d have to write something first! (You’re not very good at this quiz-making thing, are you?)
  2. Get lost, it’s perfect!
  3. Deep depression followed by, “Can you tell me what you mean?”
  4. Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to give me feedback

How much time do you spend on social media:

  1. All the time. I love going on discussion forums and talking with like-minded people about throwing book-launch parties and what to wear when I appear on television
  2. A good 4-5 hours a day, mostly sites that tell me how writing can make me rich
  3. Now and then. I like sites that talk about writing technique and how to complete a project
  4. Only as much as will satisfy my publisher

What best describes your work habits?

  1. What work habits?
  2. I spend hours figuring out what I’ll spend my money on when I sell my first book
  3. I try to write every day, but it’s not easy
  4. I write every day, even birthdays, Christmas and when I’m sick

What are your priorities?

  1. Getting the right outfit for my launch
  2. Getting the right contract
  3. Finding the time to finish my book
  4. Writing the best book I can

Writing Is…

  1. A chance to reveal my fabulousness to the world
  2. A way to get rich without having to work very hard
  3. What I aspire to someday
  4. Essential as air

HOW DID YOU DO?

Obviously, this quiz is only meant for fun so please don’t take it too seriously. Still, maybe you learned something about yourself while reading it. Here’s how the answers break down:

Mostly As – The Reality Star. 

You’re not really interested in writing so much as in being famous. You see writing as a means to an end. Come on, if you could sing you’d do that, but at least you’re not delusional. Y’know? You probably will be famous one day. You’re ambitious and not entirely without self-awareness. All the same, unless you gain notoriety  for some other reason and then have someone ghost-write a story for  you, seeing your name on a book-jacket is probably not your destiny. Between ourselves, there are much easier ways of getting known. Have you considered stand-up comedy?

Mostly Bs – The Entrepreneur 

You’ll toy with the idea of being a writer until you realise the odds of getting rich this way are slender-slim-non-existent. Certainly, you won’t earn enough to justify the amount of work involved. Focus on getting rich, first. Then write a book telling us how you did it. Please.

Mostly Cs – The Apprentice

Listen, I don’t know if you have what it takes, but I can see you are on the right track. You understand the need to apply yourself to the task of writing; you’re not precious about your work; and you are willing to learn. Maybe you have too many other things tugging at your life right now, but hang in there. Even fifteen minutes a day can help you reach your goal.

Mostly Ds – The Pro

You’re probably already a writer. At least you have finished some projects; you may even have published some stories. Even if you haven’t, it’s only a matter of time. Now, what are you doing dawdling on the internet? Get back to work!

 

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

