Happy 162nd Birthday, Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes is 162 years old today. He’s looking good for a man of his years.

Last year, in honour of the day, I posted a puzzle. It was very popular and I thought it might be fun to bring it back for the occasion.Sherlock-Holmes Birthday

In the story below I’ve hidden the names of some characters portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch on film or in TV.

* Some names go over two or three words. This can either be by the sound of the name or by the spelling.

* Some names are embedded in one word.

* Where the word is a hominy for a character name (sounds like it) I’ve used the spelling of the proper words rather than the spelling of the character’s name (‘homes’ instead of ‘Holmes’, for instance)

* I’ve only used characters that have already appeared on TV or in film so  you can rule out Doctor Strange, for instance.

See how many you spot. I’ll post the solution next week. Good luck!

The smog outside Baker Street had me in a pit of gloom.

“Tea? Gin? Scotch?” Watson slurred. He dropped a glass on the floor. “Damn, that was slippery,” he said. As if I couldn’t tell he’d been at the Christmas whisky.

“What’s that?” I said. “No, thank you. I’m thinking of taking a holiday. Perhaps a touring trip around some stately homes, if I can make the van go.”

“Sitting in a van is no exercise,” Watson said. “You should do something physical. Like hawking.”

“Next you’ll be telling me to take up with a hooker,” I said. “I get plenty of exercise.”

“Ha! You are as sedentary as a clerk in an office. Anyway, can you afford the time? Have you finished your last case?”

“I did. I fear I cannot tell you the details. It’s classified.”

“I’d have thought you could marshal up some trust in me, your closest friend.

 “Of course, my dear fellow. But I’d be a poor steward to my country if I broke an oath of silence.”

He was irked and downed another glass of scotch. “Humph,” he said. “I’m not being a nosy parker.”

“Don’t be an ass. Anger accomplishes nothing. I, too, have to answer to my masters, in this instance, Mycroft, even as you do.”

“You don’t care, you… You…”

“It’s not me, it’s Mycroft,” I protested. “He’s hard… Anyway, you didn’t answer my question.

“Question?”

“Do you want to come on holiday with me?”

“Oh,” he said. “That would be lovely. Thanks, Holmes.

“Happy New Year, Watson.”

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Sherlock Holmes, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

