Sherlock Holmes and the Other Woman Audio

As you know, my second novel Sherlock Holmes and the Other Woman will be released by MX Publishing on November 4th. To whet your appetite, here’s a reading of the opening scene, courtesy of the very talented Simon Blackburn:

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sherlock Holmes and the Other Woman Audio

  1. Resa Haile says:

    Very enjoyable.

    I haven’t read your first book yet, so maybe this is covered there, but why is Mrs, Hudson the housekeeper?

    Like

  2. rycardus says:

    Great question, Resa. I have three answers:

    Mrs Hudson should be referred to as the landlady, but this story is told from Holmes’s perspective. Her title falls under the sort of general information that’s not of any great importance to him.

    I also wanted to convey a sense of warmth between the two characters. It’s hard to get affectionate about a landlady, really. I suppose I was influenced by Una Stubbs’ wonderful portrayal in BBC’s ‘Sherlock’. (Even though she’s not a housekeeper, either!)

    Most importantly, though, I read a compelling article several years ago that suggested Holmes eventually bought 221B and kept Mrs H on as a housekeeper. I think that by 1898, when this story is told, Holmes may well have bought the building.

    Fun speculating, isn’t it?

    Like

    • Resa Haile says:

      One thing I loved about the Una Stubbs character is her setting people straight that she was the landlady. While I personally have a hard time thinking Mrs. Hudson would want to go from landlady to housekeeper, everyone has her own Mrs. Hudson or Holmes or Watson. Thanks for clearing up my confusion!

      And, yes, I love speculation.

      I think the excerpt was charming, and you’re definitely on my list. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Comment

