Are You a Twit?

I admit it: I’m a twitter-holic.

I was sceptical at first. Burned by other social network sites (you know who you are, Facebook) there didn’t seem to be much different in tweeting. And how could you possibly communicate in 140 characters or less?

Turns out, you can. In fact, you could make a reasonable case for brevity being one of the greatest benefits of twitter. In an age when everyone has internet access and assumes that all of us are hanging on their every word (after word after word) the forced limitations of tweeting have a great appeal.

In the past year, I have become increasingly reliant upon twitter for my news, my professional development and my entertainment. Twitter told me my childhood hero Davy Jones had died. It told me what Dublin bus was up to when the Queen was visiting. And it gives me an insight into how other writers approach their craft.

Here are some of my favourite accounts to follow:

Irish Publishing News – @irishpublishing – for all the news about what’s happening in, well, Irish publishing.

Publishers’ Weekly – @PublishersWkly – more American based, but valuable for news about the business side of the publishing industry.

Writing.ie – @writing_ie – for all that’s happening on the writing scene throughout Ireland.

The Stage – @thestage – for reviews and news about the world of theatre. Though it’s primarily West End-centric, it does explore regional UK developments and occasionally further afield. If you’re a theatre fan, it’s essential.

Irish Theatre Magazine – @IrishTheatreMag – for the same information as the Stage but focusing on Irish theatre.

Irish Pen – @penireland – THE organisation for Irish writers, poets and novelists.

BBC Writers’ Room – @bbcwritersroom – for information about, well, BBC writers as well as dramas and updates on my favourite shows. A must for anyone who aspires to write for Auntie Beeb.

Stephen Fry – @stephenfry – Urbane, erudite, sometimes irascible and always entertaining.

The Queen – @Queen_UK – endlessly entertaining. And in case I’m ever likely to forget, she reminds me when it’s Gin O’Clock.

I also follow any Dublin theatre with a twitter account and a number of writers.

So those are my favourites. Who do you follow?

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Stuff and Nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You a Twit?

  1. Jane E says:

    What about Query Shark?

    I have to say I love being able to chat to people all over the world – Japan, USA, Norway, Austrialia – even Ireland.

    Like

    • rycardus says:

      You’re right, they’re great. I missed a few all right – some of my ‘grammar for nerds’ accounts, for instance. Not that I’m a nerd, you understand.

      Like

Leave a Comment

