Time for a Brew…

If this was a TV show instead of a novel, I’d be at the point where Buffy has to face the Evil First all on her own and Giles is being devoured by vampires… Where Beckett and Castle are trapped in the sewer and the bomb is due to explode in seconds… Where the dilitheum crystals have run out of power and it’ll take a day to regenerate them, but the asteroid is going to hit the Enterprise in thirty seconds… And then they break for the commercials and we head off to the kitchen to make a cuppa.

Which is my windy way of telling you I reached the half-way point this morning. In terms of word count, not plot. There’s nothing nearly as exciting happening in my story as the death defying events faced by our TV heroes. Still, I’m half-way there and that’s exciting enough.

Half-way points are thrilling. They show you’ve got stamina.

So far.

That you’re on track.

For now.

And that you only have to do it all over again and you’ll be done.

Yippee.

According to my NaNoWriMo statistics, if I write 1561 words a day I should finish on November 29th.  Gives me long enough to get plenty of bottles of bubbly in. But that’s still two weeks away and I have another 24,963 words to write before I get there.

Tea break over. Time for Buffy to kick some ass.

Back to work.

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

