NaNoWriMo day 1 review

Yesterday’s NaNoWriMo quota got off to a good start with 1739 words logged. No doubt the initial euphoria of getting started helped the words to flow, and it didn’t hurt that I’d been visualising that opening scene for some time.

One thing I found yesterday was that having an outline made the process much easier. To be sure, the outline is fairly loose, with more of the specifics sorted at the beginning and the ending of the novel: it’s the mid-section that is a bit how’s-your-father. On the other hand, with my first novel, Shakespeare’s Tree, I didn’t use an outline at all. But I wasn’t trying to meet a quota of words then either.

I focused more on getting the words down rather than evaluating the quality, but once the quota was met, I went back and tidied up the language before deciding I was done. Whether I continue to work that same way or not, I don’t know. I suspect there will be a fatigue factor once I hit the middle of the process. What with its flabby outline and all.

Anyway, on to a (with luck) robust and muscular day two.

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Stuff and Nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNoWriMo day 1 review

  1. wordfoolery says:

    1739, that’s a brilliant start. Yeah, an outline definitely helps when you’re under time pressure, I think. Which is why my current lack of outline (after chapter 3) is a bit worrying. I’m going to have to work on that next week.

    I’m loving the title for your first novel, by the way.
    Grace (ML for Ireland North East)

    Like

    • rycardus says:

      Thanks, Grace. I’m happy with the start – just hope I can keep it up.

      Glad you like the title – I must admit, I quite like it too. If you have time, check out the story of the tree that stood in Shakespeare’s garden and what happened to it after he died. It makes for very entertaining reading.

      Good luck with your project.

      Like

Leave a Comment

