ISN’T NANOWRIMO A CHARACTER IN STAR WARS?

You’d be forgiven for thinking so; it does have that science fiction sound to it. But in fact NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month.

Participants around the globe attempt to write the first draft of a novel – 50,000 words in all – during the month of November. That comes to around 1666 words per day. Child’s play, right?

Uh, no. you’d have to be a bit nuts to put yourself through that sort of literary boot camp. So with insanity being my usual state of being, I naturally signed up.

I’ve had the idea for the novel for some time but real life – in the form of moving from Dublin to Kells, losing all my theatrical connections, and completely revising my lifestyle – has intruded on the actual writing part. I’ve focused, instead, on shorter projects and have published a couple of pieces. But I think the time has come for me to dive right in and see
if submerging myself in this project for a full month will pay dividends of any sort.

I don’t have an outline; have very little idea what’s going to happen except in the vaguest sense, but I believe the attempt alone will be an adventure. Think of me as Indiana Jones with a laptop (and endless mugs of tea, my drug of choice). Just consider me one of the Raiders of the Lost Art of novel writing. Hopefully NOT about to meet my Temple of Doom!

It may be exhausting, it will undoubtedly be challenging, but I doubt it’ll be boring. I hope to update my blog with progress. I’m counting on your support.

About Geri Schear

Geri Schear is an award-winning novelist, author of three Sherlock Holmes and Lady Beatrice books published by MX Publishing. Her short stories have appeared in a number of journals. For further information, see her page at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Geri-Schear/e/B00ORWA3EU
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ISN’T NANOWRIMO A CHARACTER IN STAR WARS?

  1. aarongraham says:

    Ahhh, I DO wish I had time to devote to R2-D2NANOWRIMO!

    As a father of 3 and a full time “pay the bills” kind of job, I’m proud of myself when I can get up at 5:00 AM to pound my keyboard for a few hours before everyone wakes up.

    One day…maybe next year.

    Like

Leave a Comment

